The 44 metre high, 207 – metre long concrete dam on Anyox Creek was built in 1924 to power a copper mine and smelter, and abandoned in 1935.
In the mid 1920′s the town of Anyox was a thriving community of over 3,000, with each home supported by electricity and hot water from the hydroelectric plant.
In the early 1920s concrete pioneer and dam engineer John S. Eastwood designed the hydroelectric dam as it stood as the tallest dam in Canada for many years.
We will have the opportunity to explore in and around this magnificent structure that seems so out of place in the middle of nowhere.
The owner of the site still has plans to one day reactivate the dam and start producing power again. For now the water passes through the dam through a couple of small outlets and a larger hole that they created with dynamite to alleviate any backlog of water while decommissioned.
Don't miss this opportunity to be one of a handful of people to visit the dam this year and book a Tour with Northern BC Jet Boat Tours to The Town that Got Lost!